New Holy Grail Drugstore Foundation… L’Oreal True Match! | ✨

Hey my loves! Hope you’re all doing fab as usual.

So, I think I may have found a new holy grail foundation, which, believe it or not is actually from the drugstore, and has been sitting under my nose this entire time! It is in fact a foundation I have tried in the past, but I purchased the wrong shade, and as a result hated it, through my own fault of course… but moving on.

So, without further a do, let’s get into it!

The foundation of course is L’Oreal’s True Match foundation.

IMG_0363

I know that this has been ranted and raved about for SO long in the beauty community, and clearly I am just late to the party. But I can honestly say I love wearing this foundation daily. It’s a nice break from my Urban Decay All Nighter, and it’s a lighter coverage too, but isn’t “light” coverage; more of a medium build-able. I usually build it up to full coverage and then pair it with my Maybelline Fit Me Concealer (weirdly enough the Maybelline Fit Me Foundation was my holy grail drugstore before discovering True Match!).

When I initially tried True Match years ago, I bought a shade that looked like my ideal shade, but when I tried it it was so unbelievably pink-toned, while my skin has yellow undertones. Immediately this was a no-go, and I had never bothered to go back to it until recently when L’Oreal had a 3 for 2 in Superdrug, and I was in the mood (not even going to say need, we all know I don’t need yet another foundation…) to try a new foundation.

*I actually bought 3 foundations, and a blog post on the other two is in the works… so stay tuned for that!*

I have to say True Match really reminds me of Estee Lauder’s Double Wear. The consistency is the same, and I feel that the coverage is the same. For me, personally, I don’t think Double Wear is that full coverage; more of a medium but build-able.

IMG_0359

However, True Match does have a pro that Double Wear doesn’t have; it has a pump for application, unlike Double Wear’s glass bottle opening, which is a pain.

True Match has a semi-matte finish, so it’s not completely matte and still gives some luminosity to the skin. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I have oily skin, so I set all of my foundations with a translucent loose powder regardless.

I also think the foundation is pretty long lasting, although setting foundation usually makes foundation as a whole last longer, I don’t think it should take away from the fact that this is pretty long wearing.

I do think it would be perfect for all skin tones, if my skin is feeling super problematic I will wear a matte, smoothing primer underneath it, but I have used more luminous primers underneath it and still had fab results.

My favourite thing about the foundation is how it looks on the skin. It blends really well and you only have to use around 2 pumps for a full face, medium coverage. It’s sort of a “your-skin-but-better” foundation, yet is medium-full coverage at the same time. It just makes my skin look healthy all day, which I love, and it also means I don’t have to break the bank replacing my Urban Decay All Nighter every few months.

L’Oreal True Match is £9.99, and you can find it here

Thanks for reading loves! I hope you enjoyed this post.

Don’t forget to like & follow!

Lots of love always,

L&L.

 

One thought on “New Holy Grail Drugstore Foundation… L’Oreal True Match! | ✨

Leave a Reply

