New L’Oreal Skincare; Pure Clay, Hydra Genius…Worth the Hype?! | ✨

Hey my loves!

Sorry it’s been a week since I’ve posted, the new, remastered Crash Bandicoot has taken over my life and I can’t seem to think about, or do, anything else…

Until I saw these new face masks and L’Oreal’s Hydra Genius come into my local Superdrug, that is!

I seem to be reviewing a lot of L’Oreal products recently, but as we all know they are a beauty-brand giant and release some killer products!

Firstly, the masks.

The Pure Clay masks have been around for a while now, L’Oreal initially released three; a red one (Glow Mask), a green one (Purity Mask) and a black one (Detox Mask). They all do different things, and sort of put “multi-masking” on the map.

They were widely raved about and are still supported hugely within the beauty community. I have tried the black Detox Mask, and it is something I always try and keep on hand in my skincare cupboard, because it’s a great mask and really cleans my skin and clears out my pores.

So, when I saw the new colours come into store, I was obviously excited and intrigued! The new colours are blue and yellow, and do even more new things!

FullSizeRender 6

The blue mask is a Blemish Rescue Mask, which claims to clear and unclog the skin.

It’s “Powerful Blend of 3 Pure Clays”(All of the masks in this range have these three clays, accompanied with another skincare ingredient); Kaolin, Montmorillonite and Ghassoul, paired with Marine Algae, claim to immediately reduce redness around blemishes, shrink pores and make the skin feel fresh. After one week of use, the mask is meant to unclog blackheads and mattify the skin, and after continuous use, it is meant to keep pores cleared and transform your skin.

I find this one similar to the black Detox Mask, but not the entirely the same. The blue Blemish Rescue Mask dries down, as does the Detox Mask, but it dries to a darker blue, whereas the Detox Mask dries to a grey colour. I find that when I use the black Detox Mask, I can see my pores through it when it’s dried, which is where the product has worked into my skin to clear out my pores. So in actual fact you can see it working. The blue Blemish Rescue Mask sits on top of the skin in a thick layer even when dried, but it feels smooth to the touch.

The mask feels luxurious on the skin, smooth and thick and covers really well. It definitely smells fresh. It also has a slight metallic sheen to it that reminds me of the GlamGlow Sonic Masks, but not as intense.

IMG_0834

Because I’m obviously a child, I love that the Blemish Rescue Mask is bright blue and when you put it on you basically turn into a smurf for the next 10 minutes. But aside from that, I really do like this mask. I’ve used it a couple of times, on its own and as a multi-mask session.

For the price, I think you get a pretty decent amount as I get quite a lot of use out of just the one tub. The box does state 50ml = 10 applications but I definitely think I get more out of one tub than just 10.

The packaging of the masks, and of the Hydra Genius, is very luxurious. The masks feel really heavy and are in a glass (I think!) pot, as is the Hydra Genius. If not glass, it’s some sort of strong, glass-like plastic! They do not feel cheap or tacky.

As far as the claims; it definitely does reduce the redness around blemishes after first use, and makes the skin feel fresh. I haven’t noticed a huge difference in my pores, and whilst my skin does feel mattified for a few hours after using it, I don’t see results long term, but I do have oily skin. As far as blackhead unclogging, I don’t actually have any blackheads to unclog, and, despite my oily skin, blackheads aren’t something I get a lot of. However, this mask will definitely be put to the test whenever I have one again, probably in the near future.

I am pleased with how it reduces my breakouts without making my skin feel dry and uncomfortable, and can see how with prolonged use it could help to combat oiliness and blackheads, but this is something I will need to put to the test!

Overall rating: 9/10.

The next mask is the yellow Bright Mask. Which again, I loved because I’m clearly a child and am attracted to putting bright colours on my face for fun.

IMG_0835

This mask claims to even skin tone and illuminate the skin. It contains the same clays as the Blemish Rescue Mask, but also Yuzu Lemon Extract, which is added to even out the skin tone.

It has an exfoliant within it, and is gritty when you apply it due to this. This isn’t something that bothers me, and I actually enjoy rinsing it off as you can feel the exfoliants really working on your skin.

This mask doesn’t dry down completely dry, as do the other two I have tried, but it does dry down slightly.

The claims of this mask are; immediately the skin is deeply cleansed and appears more even and luminous, after one week of use, skin tone is clarified and complexion is fresh and bright, and after consistent use, skin can breathe and is transformed.

After using this mask, my complexion was definitely fresher, brighter, and deeply cleansed due to the exfoliants within it. I will continue to use it consistently, and see how my skin goes on, with the hope of it being transformed.

Overall Rating 9/10.

I do really love L’Oreal’s Pure Clay masks. I think they’re a perfect staple to have in your skincare cupboard, and do exactly what they say on the box! I would definitely say they are worth a buy. If you’re skeptical, or just not a skincare and product hoarder like myself, opt for just the one mask first and see how you get on with it! But, if you’re a bit of a skincare junkie, not only are they great for your skin, they’re super fun to play with and multi-mask, or walk around like a smurf!

You can find the clay masks here.

WORTH THE HYPE!

Onto the Hydra Genius.

I’ve seen this everywhere for months, all over Instagram, everywhere, and I’ve been dying to get my hands on it, so when I saw it in my local Superdrug I was over the moon!

IMG_0827

The thing I love most about this moisturiser right off the bat is that it has a water-like texture, and replenishes the skin almost instantaneously. This is perfect for all us oily skin gals who also are dehydrated too. As you all probably know, I absolutely love my Superdrug Vitamin E night cream, (check out the post all about that, here!) and I love smothering it on my skin at night. I truly don’t think anything can replace that beloved! But, under a primer and makeup, thicker creams can be a bit heavy for oily skin, so Hydra Genius is ideal.

The “Liquid Care” is enriched with Aloe Water + Hyaluronic Acid which is an extremely strong moisturising ingredient and is found naturally within the skin. Both of these ingredients together really hold moisture in the skin.

It has a pump applicator which is great, because it means you don’t overuse product. The moisturiser itself is clear, and looks like a thick water. You get 70ml of product, and I think that’s great considering two small pumps did my entire face.

IMG_0829 2

Upon first use, my skin felt amazing after using this. It felt as though I had nothing on my skin, but when I felt my skin it felt hydrated, soft and supple, but not wet, greasy, sticky or heavy. My skin looked more luminous and hydrated too, but again, not wet or greasy.

The smell is a little strong at first, but after application you can’t smell it at all. It isn’t an unpleasant smell, just apparent when you first apply it.

The Hydra Genius is available for normal to combination skin, normal to dry skin, and dry and sensitive skin. I have the one for normal to combination.

Overall I think this product does EXACTLY what it claims to do; it intensely hydrates instantly and locks in moisture, it’s lightweight, fresh, fluid and non-greasy. It would be amazing under makeup as it creates a smooth, hydrated base to work from!

It makes my skin feel incredible and I think using this in a morning, and my Superdrug Vitamin E moisturiser at night, I could be onto a winner!

Overall rating: 10/10! An amazing innovative product from L’Oreal.

115% WORTH THE HYPE!

You can find it here.

Thanks for reading lovelies! I hope this post was useful and you enjoyed it!

Let me know in the comments if you’ve tried these things/or want to give them a go!

Don’t forget to like & follow for more skincare, makeup and fitness posts!

Lots of love,

Lipsticks & Louboutins xo 

 

 

3 thoughts on “New L’Oreal Skincare; Pure Clay, Hydra Genius…Worth the Hype?! | ✨

Leave a Reply

