What I Got For My Birthday! | 💕✨

So, last week I closed the door on my teenage years and turned 20. Yep, it’s a big deal, I don’t want to talk about it anymore, let’s move on… *sighs*.

Although, I did get some great gifts for my birthday, of which I will be sharing and discussing with you all!

After continuously dropping hints and tagging her in every Facebook post I possibly could of Spectrum brushes, my best friend kindly treated me to a set.

It’s safe to say I am well and truly in love.

Spectrum Collection brushes are something that have been on my wish list for quite a while. I saw them quite a while back and they caught my eye primarily because I thought they were really unique. I received a pointed finishing brush in the February Birchbox, and this just furthered my need for a set of them.

So unwrapping them on my birthday, I was more than ecstatic.

Without further ado, here they are…

 

My full set of Spectrum Collection Brushes consists of:

  • A01 – “brush up” – this is a powder brush. Super big and soft, lovely.
  • A05 – “smile and wave darling” – this is an angled brush, perfect for defining and structuring.
  • A06 – “shady lady” – this is sort of an eyeshadow brush… by “sort of” I mean, it’s a bit bigger than a “usual” shadow brush, so it can be used for numerous things.
  • A15 – a brush I also think has numerous uses, it’s fine, precise and flat.
  • A17 – “brow love” – a thin angled brow brush.
  • A19 – “so fine” – a detailing brush. Tiny and precise. Personally, I like to use it for lips and concealer on blemishes.
  • Bo1 – “in the buff” – flat top foundation buffer.
  • B03 – “under cover” – a smaller flat topped buffer, great for blending in under eye concealer and colour correct.
  • B04 – “eye spy” – angled eyeshadow brush.
  • B06 – “blending friend” – I LOVE eye blending brushes!
  • C03 – “flawless finish” – pointed brush… I use this for setting my under eyes/highlight.

Perfect, right?! Literally everything a girl could need… although I am eyeing up the “#NO.1 FAN” brush… that may have to be my next purchase!

I have to say they are lovely and soft. The quality is so good, and they’re cruelty free too. There is nothing better than having a good set of great brushes, because you can really tell the difference when applying make up, and in the finished look!

Plus, they’re SUPER pretty and stand out amongst other brushes.

I know Spectrum have recently released a “marble” collection too… which look amazing!

The only “con” of the brushes is the packaging they come in. My friend was quite disappointed to receive them in the packaging she did… although I didn’t see the packaging, she said she thought that they might have been a little more well presented.

Overall, I am so pleased with my Spectrum Collection brushes… and another thing to tick off of my beauty wish list!

If you want to check out the Spectrum Collections for yourself, you can find them here! 

 

My other half kindly treated me to a new clutch bag… not just any clutch bag, mind, a new Vivienne Westwood clutch. It’s the Vivienne Westwood envelope clutch, in coral with black orb. It’s beautiful. It came in a little Vivienne Westwood Accessories duster bag. The bag itself, as per Viv, is a gorgeous quality. I can’t wait to take it out with me!

 

We also had a weekend in Manchester, UK, for my birthday. We stayed in the Townhouse Hotel, Portland Street, and it was absolutely beautiful. I couldn’t recommend it more, and I would definitely stay there again! The weekend was lovely, filled with indulgent meals and a little spending spree! Overall, a great little break.

If you’re interested in the Townhouse Hotel, you can find them on their website, here! 

I also received a Body Shop “Feel So Good” box, filled with coconut bath/skin products. I received something similar to this at Christmas and loved it, so I was happy to receive this for my birthday. Inside, it had coconut bath/shower cream which is very nourishing and leaves your skin feeling soft, a bar of coconut soap, which I actually use to clean my make up brushes with as it makes them so clean and fresh without damaging them, a tub of coconut body scrub, we all know I love a good exfoliator… a tub of coconut body lotion ( this stuff is literally one of my favourite products, it’s so thick and creamy and smells heavenly) and a new loofah. It’s a really nice gift set and something I thought I’d share with it being beauty related! If you’ve not tried any of The Body Shop coconut products, I’d definitely recommend them. They’re lovely quality and you can get some great results!

 

I got quite a few bottles of wine for my birthday (about four, I think…) and two bottles of champagne… maybe people are trying to tell me something?! But hey, a celebration is a celebration!

Finally, something I’ve been wanting for a while; new hair extensions! If you don’t already know, which many do, I am an avid hair extension wearer, and have been for about 5 years now.

Yes, I will answer the question that everyone asks; how long is your natural hair?

… my natural hair is pretty long, but I just prefer how my hair looks with my trusty extensions in, it’s just personal preference, that’s all. I only wear 100% human hair extensions of the best quality, because it’s the only way they look natural, and the higher the quality, the longer they will last.

Obviously, you do have to take care of them, too! (If any of you are interested in how I take care of my hair extensions – I can do a separate blog post purely for that routine! Let me know!)

So anyway, I ordered the Beauty Works Double Wefted 100% Remy Human Hair Extensions in 20″ Bohemian Blonde (18/22). This was my first ever purchase from Beauty Works, as previously I had had Dirty Looks (I think they’re called Milk + Blush now), so the colour match was pretty much a guess on my behalf, I’m so pleased that I managed to get it bang on!

Also, 20″ isn’t what I usually go for, as I’ve said before, my hair isn’t short, so normally I opt for 18″ and it’s near enough the same length as my natural hair, but I fancied going a tad longer this time.

I got next day delivery and they came within the time slot given to me via email and text message.

I was surprised at how HUGE the packaging was! Like, literally, HUGE. I’m about 5 foot 6 and when I stand up the box is up to my hip, but it’s great that they’re packaged well.

The hair comes in three separate wefts. Again, this is something I’m not used to, as normally I either cut the wefts and sew the clips myself, or, I receive packs that have one clip wefts and two clip wefts etc. These have one three clip weft and two four clip wefts, but you definitely get a lot of hair, which is exactly what you want, there’s nothing worse than brand new thin extensions! Just no.

They are super soft and I think the clips hold a lot better than many other extensions I’ve had in the past.

All in all, I’m extremely happy with them! Thank you, BeautyWorks!

If you’re interested in some BeautyWorks extensions yourself, I would recommend them! You can search for them on their website, here! 

Thank you for reading!

Don’t forget to like & follow!

If you want a more in depth post relating to any of the things mentioned above – don’t hesitate to let me know!

Also let me know if you’ve tried any of these products, and what you thought of them!

Love,

L&L.

 

7 thoughts on “What I Got For My Birthday! | 💕✨

Leave a comment